Memorable places in Kobrin: lost forever

The fountain in the form of a swastika

In the downtown there is a new modern Palace of culture constructed on the place of old Recreation center. The palace is built actually completely anew. From old Recreation center there was only a tiny part which is in building depth.

Near the Palace there is a square put after war of Morozov. In this square even before emergence of Recreation center there was very original fountain. In the early fifties the square with the fountain was one their favourite vacation spots of youth. The youth was going to have a rest, listen in the evening to songs to the guitar here, to be cooled in a hot flying weather with splashes from the fountain.

What was represented by the fountain?

On a concrete socle 4 crocodiles whose of oskalenny mouths water streams beat were located. In the center of the fountain, having lifted up a trunk, the elephant threw out water. This original fountain which was decoration of our city worked infrequently and existed not for long.

Why the sculptural composition with animals, so unusual to our district, was the basis for the fountain?

Old residents claim that the fountain was built by the German prisoners of war who restored many city facilities after its release from fascist aggressors. By the way, they built also the old bridge through Mukhavets which is in the downtown down the street of Lenin. Many tell that at construction of the bridge the German prisoners of war were not only are punctual, but also built very soundly, as for themselves (they despite ranks and ranks of local people and officials safely entered verbal sparrings when those stirred them work or forced to hurry and do poor). It is hard to say who designed this fountain, but the soldiers of prostrate army expelled from the territories won by them managed to leave behind the symbols. Someone noticed that from above the fountain reminded a fascist swastika.

When this news received a wide public response, the fountain by order of local authorities was reconstructed. In 1957-58 crocodiles were replaced with frogs, but also frogs-kvakushki staid absolutely not for long. Probably someone considered that all of them equally remind residents of the predecessors crocodiles. As a result and frogs were cleaned, and the fountain in the middle still some time continued to work with an elephant, but its look already was not that at all. At construction of old Recreation center (RDK) the fountain was finally removed. Now know the few about its existence. This fountain can be found only in the old, turned yellow from time photos.

P.S. It is interesting that similar fountains were and is not only in Kobrin, but also worldwide. Let's pay attention to some of them.

In Simferopol on the fountain in the Italian court yard of the station two pigeons are not enough - they were moved away at once after noticed that figurines of pigeons of the fountain form a swastika. And on one of legends if to look at a tower with hours from a certain party and in a certain time of day, it is possible to see Hitler's profile.

The fountain in Simferopol

In Gomel, according to old residents, similar settled down in the well-known city park. This fountain was decorated by modelled images of dolphins (according to other data – frogs). However, in the early sixties inhabitants whether sea, whether fresh waters were moved away. According to a legend, by means of aerial photography it became clear that dolphins fly over the fountain in the form of a fascist swastika.

The fountain in Gomel

In Bialystok in city park there was a fountain in the form of four dolphins. It even some time worked until any pilot, flying by over the city, paid attention that dolphins the bodies, meeting to the center noses and having bent tails, form themselves a swastika. The fountain was demolished right there.

In all cases say that fountains appeared thanks to the German prisoners of war who were involved in works on restoration of city objects. Claim that in such cunning way they salted to winners. Of course, it is the simplest to write off for the German prisoners of war. But someone designed these fountains. It is interesting that crocodiles and frogs were also on the well-known, nowadays restored fountain in Volgograd (Stalingrad). So, similar fountains with animals likely were very popular in due time. And as arranged these animals, perhaps there, nobody reflected. Perhaps, just like that it turned out owing to aspiration to symmetry. And it is possible, as there was someone's evil intention …

The fountain in Volgograd

It is interesting that users of cartographical service Google Earth stirred up residents of the Belgian town of Maasmekhelen (Maasmechelen) which is on border with the Netherlands in 2006. It was found out that the fountain glad with a city town hall in a form represents a fascist swastika. The fountain quietly worked more than 27 years.

The author of the project of the fountain - the designer Robber Tashele claims that he is not a nazi and is proud of the work. According to him, nazis have no monopoly for a swastika, and it is an ancient symbol of god of the sun. When in 1979 when Tashele presented the work to the mayor of that time, similarity of the fountain to a swastika did not cause any idle talks. It was decided that the fountain will take the shamrock form.

Service of information support of the website Tourist Kobrin


Search in the website

Our partners

Versão em português 中文版本 日本語版
Polish version La version française Versione italiana
Русская версия English version Deutsch Version

Памятные места в Кобрине: утраченное навеки

Фонтан в виде свастики

В центре города находится новый современный Дворец Культуры, построенный на месте старого Дома культуры. Дворец выстроен фактически полностью заново. От старого Дома культуры осталось лишь малюсенькая часть, находящаяся в глубине здания.

Рядом с Дворцом находится заложенный после войны сквер имени Морозова. В этом сквере еще до появления Дома культуры находился весьма оригинальный фонтан. В начале 50-х годов сквер с фонтаном был одним их любимых мест отдыха молодежи. Молодежь здесь собиралась вечером отдохнуть, послушать песни под гитару, охладиться в жаркую летнюю погоду брызгами от фонтана.

Что же представлял собой фонтан?

На бетонном цоколе были расположены 4 крокодила, из оскаленных пастей которых били струи воды. В центре фонтана, подняв кверху хобот, выбрасывал воду слон. Этот оригинальный фонтан, являвшийся украшением нашего города, работал нечасто и просуществовал недолго.

Почему же в основу фонтана была положена скульптурная композиция со столь необычными для нашей местности животными?

Старожилы утверждают, что фонтан строили немецкие военнопленные, которые восстанавливали многие объекты города после его освобождения от немецко-фашистских захватчиков. Кстати, они же строили и старый мост через Мухавец, находящийся в центре города по улице Ленина. Многие рассказывают, что при строительстве моста немецкие военнопленные были не только пунктуальны, но и строили весьма добротно, как для себя (они несмотря на чины и звания местных людей и чиновников смело вступали в словесные перепалки, когда те мешали их работе или заставляли спешить и делать некачественно). Трудно сказать, кто проектировал этот фонтан, но солдаты поверженной армии, изгнанные с завоёванных ими территорий, умудрились оставить после себя свои символы. Кто-то заметил, что сверху фонтан напоминал фашистскую свастику.

Когда это известие получило широкий общественный резонанс, фонтан по приказу местных властей был реконструирован. В 1957-58 году крокодилов заменили лягушками, но и лягушки-квакушки простояли совсем недолго. Видимо кто-то посчитал, что они всё равно напоминают жителям города о своих предшественниках-крокодилах. В результате и лягушек убрали, а фонтан со слоном посередине ещё какое-то время продолжал работать, но его вид уже был совсем не тот. При строительстве старого Дома культуры (РДК) фонтан окончательно убрали. Теперь о его существовании знают немногие. Этот фонтан можно найти лишь на старых, пожелтевших от времени фотографиях.

P.S. Интересно, что похожие фонтаны были и есть не только в Кобрине, но и по всему миру. Обратим внимание на некоторые из них.

В Симферополе на фонтане в итальянском дворике вокзала не хватает двух голубей - они были убраны сразу же после того, как заметили, что статуэтки голубей фонтана образуют свастику. А по одной из легенд, если посмотреть на башню с часами с определённой стороны и в определённое время суток, можно увидеть профиль Гитлера.

Фонтан в Симферополе

В Гомеле, по свидетельствам старожилов, подобный располагался в знаменитом городском парке. Этот фонтан украшали лепные изображения дельфинов (по другим данным – лягушек). Правда, в начале 1960-х годов обитателей то ли морских, то ли пресных вод убрали. Согласно легенде, с помощью аэрофотосъемки выяснилось, что дельфины летят над фонтаном в форме фашистской свастики.

Фонтан в Гомеле

В Белостоке в городском парке был фонтан в виде четырех дельфинов. Он даже какое-то время работал, пока какой-то летчик, пролетая над городом, не обратил внимания, что дельфины своими телами, сходясь к центру носами и изогнув хвосты, образуют собой свастику. Фонтан тут же снесли.

Во всех случаях поговаривают, что фонтаны появились благодаря немецким военнопленным, привлекавшимся к работам по восстановлению городских объектов. Утверждают, что таким хитрым способом они насолили победителям. Конечно, проще всего списать на немецких военнопленных. Но ведь кто-то же проектировал эти фонтаны. Интересно, что крокодилы и лягушки были и на знаменитом, ныне восстановленном фонтане в Волгограде (Сталинграде). Так что, похожие фонтаны с животными были наверно весьма популярны в свое время. А уж как там расположили этих животных, возможно, никто ни не задумывался. Может быть, просто так получилось в силу стремления к симметрии. А возможно, что и был чей-то злой умысел…

Фонтан в Волгограде

Интересно, что пользователи картографической службы Google Earth растормошили в 2006 году жителей бельгийского городка Маасмехелен (Maasmechelen), который находится на границе с Нидерландами. Обнаружилось, что фонтан радом с городской ратушей по форме представляет собой фашистскую свастику. Фонтан спокойно работал более 27 лет.

Автор проекта фонтана - дизайнер Роббер Ташеле утверждает, что он не нацист и гордится своей работой. По его словам, у нацистов нет монополии на свастику, и она является древним символом бога солнца. Когда в 1979, когда Ташеле представил свою работу тогдашнему мэру города, сходство фонтана со свастикой не вызвало никаких кривотолков. Было решено, что фонтан примет форму трилистника.

Служба информационной поддержки сайта Туристический Кобрин

Навигация

Поиск по сайту



Наши партнеры

Познай Кобрин

детский трикотаж иваново оптом от производителя