Ponyatovsky Stanisêaw II August

Ponyatovsky Stanisêaw II August (Poniatowski) (on January 17, 1732, Volchin, Poland — on February 12, 1798, St. Petersburg), the last king of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth in 1764-1795. Son of the Krakow kashtelyan of Stanislav Ponyatovsky and Constantius Ponyatovskoy, nee princess Chartoryyskaya. After death of the king Augustus III it was proposed as Chartoryysky' party the candidate for a throne of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth and in 1764 it is elected the king.

Election as the king of the natural Pole in which veins blood of an ancient dynasty Pyastov flew (see PYaSTY), caused enthusiasm of the Polish patriots. The new king differed in good-natured character, was a witty and pleasant interlocutor, loved gloss of a social life. Its superficial education and, as a result of it, superficial knowledge in sciences was compensated by cares of development of the Polish system of education. Special delights in Warsaw caused guest-nights at court on Thursdays when all color of the Polish art, literary and scientific world gathered.
The fan of the fair sex, Stanislav Augustus willingly moved towards wishes of the numerous ladies of the Polish high society who were considering it as honor for themselves to become the royal mistress.
On this wave of public support Stanislav Augustus carried out some reforms directed to centralization of the government and restriction of an oligarchical arbitrariness. During the first rule Stanislav Augustus Ponyatovsky began transformations in treasury, stamping of money, in army (having entered new types of weapon and having replaced a cavalry with infantry), in the state prize system, legislative system. Sought to cancel "liberum veto" allowing any member of Diet to impose a ban on any decision.

Coronation portrait of Stanislav Augustus Ponyatovsky.
Photo of Jerzy Lileyko (1980) (Vademecum Zamku Warszawskiego, Warsaw)

Stanislav Ponyatovsky, having before itself a bitter experience of Stanislav Leshchinsky, tried to neutralize a legendary paternoster "for a sin of the ancestor Boleslav". In expiation of the broken tradition of crowning in 1764 in Warsaw, but not in Krakow, the newly elected king decided to ask forgiveness for Saint Stanislav of the patron of Poland, in a different way — having founded in 1765. Order of Saint Stanislaus. This Award became the second, after the highest state award of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth – Awards of the White Eagle, the state award of Poland.

Since 1767 dissatisfied policy of Ponyatovsky of group of a shlyakhta with assistance of the neighboring powers of Russia and Prussia united in confederation. The so-called Repninsky Diet at the end of 1767 — the beginning of 1768 (so by name the representative Catherine II of N. V. Repnin who was actually dictating decisions is called), confirmed the "cardinal rights" guaranteeing shlyakhetsky freedoms and privileges and proclaimed an equalization of rights of Orthodox Christians and Protestants with Catholics. The conservative shlyakhta dissatisfied with these postulates and the pro-Russian orientation of Ponyatovsky united in the armed union — Lordly confederation. The begun civil war caused intervention of the neighboring powers and entailed the first section of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth in 1772.

               Ponyatovsky' coat of arms

In 1766 according to instructions of the king Stanislav Augustus Ponyatovsky Kobrin it was deprived of the Magdebourg right. In 1655 the crown chancellor of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth Yury Ossolinsky on diet for the first time voiced idea of construction of the ship canal connecting the basins of Pripyat and Bug. The engineering design was developed by the royal topographer F. Chaki in 1766. In 1770 the project was submitted to the king Stanislav Augustus Ponyatovsky, and works on a construction of the channel began in 1775 - then the first site of 8 km was dug. Schultz who is written out from Sweden directed works "geometrics and gidravlik". Works on construction of the channel were ended in the 1783rd year. As a result the waterway Mukhavets who connected the rivers near of Mukhovloki (near Kobrin) and to Ping near Kuzhelichin turned out (in the south from Ivanov). Construction of the channel cost 1 million zloties - much cheaper, than construction of the channel of Oginsky. In the spring of 1784 at the initiative of Mateusz Butrimovich a caravan from 10 vessels "shugaleev",
loaded smoked fish, mushrooms, honey, wax and other local goods, for the first time went on the channel from Pinsk to Warsaw and further to Gdansk where was considerable surprising and interest to locals. About it even the silver commemorative medal was rapped out. In September of the same year the built channel was visited by the king Stanislav Augustus who officially opened navigation on the channel, having floated on it with suite in 40 people on the vessel hollowed from one oak trunk. The king spent four days in the town of Gorodets near Kobrin where the ceremonial opening of the channel took place - since then the channel began to be called precisely Royal.

Ceremonial portrait of Stanislav Ponyatovsky. National art museum of Belarus.

After adoption on May 3, 1791 of the new constitution with performance of Targovitsky confederation and intervention, at the request of confederates, the Russian troops, the Russian-Polish war of 1792 began. With its termination in 1793 there came the second section of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth (between Prussia and Russia). After suppression of revolt under the leadership of Tadeush Kosciusko in 1795 Stanislav Augustus Ponyatovsky left Warsaw and under escort of 120 Russian dragoons arrived to Grodno under guardianship and supervision of the Russian deputy where signed the act of renunciation of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth throne on November 25, 1795, in day of a name-day of the Russian empress.

Spent the last years of life in St. Petersburg. It was buried in Saint Catherine of Alexandria's Church.

P.S.: When the country became Soviet, and the authorities decided that the church on the Nevsky needs to be demolished, Stalin suggested Poland "to take away the king". And this "curtsey" had bear grace because most of Poles perceived Ponyatovsky as "grave-digger" of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth – the main responsible for disintegration of the country. In minority there were those who esteemed it the patron at whom the science and culture promptly developed.

Nevertheless, it was impossible to refuse Stalin's proposal, and Poland began to look for the place for burial. To place remains in the Vavelsky church in Krakow where kings of Poland and heroes of the nation were based, did not decide. Therefore defined that the coffin quietly and without any honors will be placed in a church of the Holy Trinity in the former family manor of Ponyatovsky in Volchin near Brest.

Late evening on July 14, 1938 here in the conditions of strict privacy from the Soviet Leningrad transported a coffin with remains of the last king of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. Still in the village there are people who remember that rainy summer evening of the 38th year.

Long time the version took place that Ponyatovsky's body in Volchin never and was. That allegedly in St. Petersburg during floods of Neva as a result of flooding of cellars of a church of Saint Ekaterina the king's body completely decayed. And in three coffins brought "baby's dummy" to a church of the Holy Trinity.

Therefore the question of location of remains of the last Polish monarch more than half a century haunted researchers.

Only in 1989 the Belarusian experts made an attempt to find in Volchin for any proofs of presence here of royal remains. But only parts of an oak coffin were found. They were placed in a sarcophagus which in 1995 was established in Warsaw, in Saint Yang's church where Stanislav Ponyatovsky was crowned.

However the Belarusian scientists investigated a crypt and scientifically confirmed that burial was valid there – fragments of clothes with the royal Polish coats of arms are found.
Also the set of bones was found, but later it turned out that it is bones of animals. The subsequent expedition from Poland, literally sifted all earth in the place of burial, but the result was negative – human remains are not found.

Navigation







Our partners

аренда лесов в киеве

Versão em português 中文版本 日本語版
Polish version La version française Versione italiana
Русская версия English version Deutsch Version

Понятовский Станислав II Август

Понятовский Станислав II Август (Poniatowski) (17 января 1732, Волчин, Польша — 12 февраля 1798, Петербург), последний король Речи Посполитой в 1764-1795 годах. Сын краковского каштеляна Станислава Понятовского и Констанции Понятовской, урождённой княжны Чарторыйской. После смерти короля Августа III был выдвинут партией Чарторыйских кандидатом на трон Речи Посполитой и в 1764 г. избран королём.

Избрание королем природного поляка, в жилах которого текла кровь древней династии Пястов (см. ПЯСТЫ), вызвало воодушевление польских патриотов. Новый король отличался добродушным характером, был остроумным и приятным собеседником, любил блеск светской жизни. Его поверхностное образование и, как следствие этого, неглубокие знания в науках компенсировались заботами о развитии польской системы просвещения. Особые восторги в Варшаве вызывали званые вечера при дворе по четвергам, когда собирался весь цвет польского художественного, литературного и научного мира.
Любитель прекрасного пола, Станислав Август охотно шел навстречу пожеланиям многочисленных дам польского высшего света, считавших для себя за честь стать королевской любовницей.
На этой волне общественной поддержки Станислав Август провел некоторые реформы, направленные на централизацию государственной власти и ограничение олигархического произвола. В первые годы правления Станислав Август Понятовский начал преобразования в казначействе, чеканке денег, в армии (введя новые виды оружия и заменив кавалерию пехотой), в государственной наградной системе, законодательной системе. Стремился отменить «liberum veto», позволявший любому члену Сейма наложить запрет на любое решение.

Коронационный портрет Станислава Августа Понятовского.
Фото Jerzy Lileyko (1980)(Vademecum Zamku Warszawskiego, Warsaw)

Станислав Понятовский, имея перед собой печальный опыт Станислава Лещинского, пытался нейтрализовать легендарное заклятие «за грех предка своего Болеслава». Во искупление нарушенной традиции коронации в 1764 г. в Варшаве, а не в Кракове, новоизбранный король решил попросить прощения у Святого Станислава покровителя Польши, другим способом — учредив в 1765 г. Орден Святого Станислава. Этот Орден стал второй, после высшей государственной награды Речи Посполитой – Ордена Белого Орла, государственной наградой Польши.

Начиная с 1767 недовольные политикой Понятовского группировки шляхты при поддержке соседних держав России и Пруссии объединялись в конфедерации. Так называемый Репнинский Сейм в конце 1767 — начале 1768 (назван так по имени представителя Екатерины II Н. В. Репнина, фактически диктовавшего решения), подтвердил «кардинальные права», гарантирующие шляхетские свободы и привилегии, и провозгласил уравнение в правах православных и протестантов с католиками. Консервативная шляхта, недовольная этими постулатами и пророссийской ориентацией Понятовского, объединилась в вооружённый союз — Барскую конфедерацию. Начавшаяся гражданская война вызвала интервенцию соседних держав и повлекла первый раздел Речи Посполитой в 1772.

                Герб Понятовских

В 1766 году по указанию короля Станислава Августа Понятовского Кобрин был лишен магдебургского права.  В 1655 году коронным канцлером Речи Посполитой Юрием Оссолинским на сейме была впервые озвучена идея строительства судоходного канала, соединяющего бассейны Припяти и Буга. Технический проект был разработан королевским топографом Ф. Чаки в 1766 году. В 1770 году проект был представлен королю Станиславу Августу Понятовскому, а работы по сооружению канала начались в 1775 году - тогда был прорыт первый участок длиною в 8 км. Руководил работами "геометрик и гидравлик" Шульц, выписаный из Швеции. Работы по строительству канала были окончены в 1783-м году. В результате получился водный путь соединивший реки Мухавец рядом с д. Муховлоки (недалеко от Кобрина) и Пину рядом с д. Кужеличин (на юге от Иванова). Строительство канала обошлось в 1 млн. злотых - гораздо дешевле, чем строительство канала Огиньского. Весной 1784 года по инициативе Матеуша Бутримовича караван из 10 судов "шугалеев",
гружёных копчёной рыбой, грибами, мёдом, воском и другими местными товарами, впервые отправился по каналу из Пинска в Варшаву и далее в Гданьск, где вызвал немалое удивление и интерес у местных жителей. По этому поводу даже была отчеканена серебряная памятная медаль. В сентябре того же года построенный канал посетил король Станислав Август, который официально открыл судоходство на канале, проплыв по нему со свитой в 40 человек на выдолбленном из одного дубового ствола судне. Король провёл четыре дня в местечке Городец под Кобрином, где и состоялось торжественное открытие канала - с тех пор канал стал называться не иначе как Королевский.

Парадный портрет Станислава Понятовского. Национальный художественный музей Беларуси.

После принятия 3 мая 1791 новой конституции с выступлением Тарговицкой конфедерации и интервенции, по просьбе конфедератов, российских войск, началась русско-польская война 1792. С её окончанием в 1793 наступил второй раздел Речи Посполитой (между Пруссией и Россией). После подавления восстания под руководством Тадеуша Костюшко в 1795 Станислав Август Понятовский оставил Варшаву и под конвоем 120 российских драгунов прибыл в Гродно под опеку и надзор российского наместника, где и подписал акт отречения от престола Речи Посполитой 25 ноября 1795, в день именин российской императрицы.

Последние годы жизни провёл в Петербурге. Был похоронен в Костёле святой Екатерины Александрийской.

P.S.: Когда страна стала советской, и власти решили, что костел на Невском нужно снести, Сталин предложил Польше «забрать своего короля». И этот «реверанс» имел медвежью грацию, ибо большинство поляков воспринимали Понятовского, как «могильщика» Речи Посполитой – главного виновника развала страны. В меньшинстве были те, кто почитал его меценатом, при котором стремительно развивались наука и культура.

Тем не менее, отказаться от предложения Сталина было нельзя, и в Польше начали подыскивать место для захоронения. Поместить останки в Вавельский костел в Кракове, где покоились короли Польши и герои нации, не решились. Потому определили, что гроб тихо и без всяких почестей поместят в костеле святой Троицы в бывшем семейном имении Понятовских в Волчине под Брестом.

Поздним вечером 14 июля 1938 года сюда в обстановке строгой секретности из советского Ленинграда перевезли гроб с останками последнего короля Речи Посполитой. До сих пор в деревне есть люди, которые помнят тот дождливый летний вечер 38-го года.

Долгое время имела место версия, что тела Понятовского в Волчине никогда и не было. Что якобы еще в Петербурге во время наводнений Невы в результате затопления подвалов костела святой Екатерины тело короля полностью истлело. А в костел святой Троицы в трех гробах привезли «пустышку».

Потому вопрос о местонахождении останков последнего польского монарха более полувека не давал покоя исследователям.

Только в 1989 году белорусскими специалистами была предпринята попытка разыскать в Волчине какие-либо доказательства присутствия здесь королевских останков. Но были найдены только части дубового гроба. Их поместили в саркофаг, который в 1995 году установили в Варшаве, в костеле святого Яна, где Станислав Понятовский был коронован.

Однако белорусские ученые исследовали крипту и научно подтвердили, что захоронение там действительно было – найдены фрагменты одежд с королевскими польскими гербами.
Также было найдено множество костей, но после оказалось, что это кости животных. Последующая экспедиция из Польши, буквально просеяла всю землю в месте захоронения, но результат был отрицательным – человеческие останки не обнаружены.

Навигация





Наши партнеры

Животный мир Кобринщины, Кобрин, Беларусь