Ekhezkel (Ekheshkel) Cat

Was born in 1847 in Kamenets-Litovsk, in very dear family of the wealthy Jew Hasid Moyshe. Further, as well as most of the Jewish children, it was trained at school where melamed Yakov-Bør taught kids Gemara, the Torah and Midrash. Already there at the school by means of the diligent doctrine, natural intelligence and biting rozog Rabi Shai-Biecaliel little Ekhezkel acquires besides occupations, the life device in the Jewish society of the "Lithuanian" places, features of the relations in a kagal, life and life of the non Jewish population of Kaments. At this stage in all vital knowledge it is trained generally the grandfather reb by Aron-Leyzer and the granny Bale Russia, further "free bread". Probably, it is easier to list in what sir Kotik was not engaged — preparation of the wood, contents shank coffee house, etc.

Moves from place to place later. The reason for that search of means of livelihood and attempt to avoid a set of the Jewish riots (for example, the well-known Kiev disorder) then becomes "live history of internal displacements of the Russian Jews".

Cat family
This stopped the most extraordinary to a chelovecha in Poland in Nalevkakh one of the districts of Warsaw where contained "the most interesting Jewish coffee house in the world" as the author of the book "Jewish Souls", A. Litvin was expressed about this institution. The Jewish emigrants from the East (Lithuanian Jews) had to keep together, and "core" of this "supolki" just and there was Ekhezkel Kotik. The anti-Semitic policy which is followed by mass riots (especially in Malorossiya and in the south of Russia) generated several waves of the Jewish emigration, in particular and to Warsaw. Monetary persons moved and
besides with extensive communications. At this conjuncture the coffee house of sir Kotik becomes the place of "party" of Jewish emigrants. And who here is only not present: manufacturers, merchants, bankers, commission agents (speaking the modern language — "and other representatives of small and medium business"), the Jewish intellectuals generally in the person of writers also appeared. Any Jewish social and political action does not do without Kotik's participation, his approach to creation of new movements and the organizations is interesting. Everything in the same coffee house he unostentatiously allows you to read the brochure booklet written by him, certainly in free time. Here you otnechy to do "took a sip" of several words, here you cannot come off it any more, by the end of reading you already share views of that owner of a coffee house. Cheerfully? Trust Ali is not present, but thus "The Zionist union of the world", "Visit of patients", "The help to orphans", "A lodging for the night just", "Akhiezer" (The brotherly help), naturally, with headquarters on Nalevkakh, 31 were born.

However it would be desirable to stop on its literary work, namely on such thing as "Memoirs" — the present encyclopedia about the life of the town of Kamenets in the XIX century written into Yiddish. Many years later (in 1998) the Center for history of the Polish Jewry at Tel Aviv University published the book of the Cat in Hebrew. This "for a long time the forgotten pearl of the Jewish literature" was translated by Maya Ulanovskaya's works on great and mighty.

The book "Reminiscence" — the real ontology of life of the city: petty bourgeoises, landowners, Jews-melamedy, dealers, assesor, district police officers and all with the characters, habits, acts. All this is given from very interesting point of view and with subtle Jewish humour. The narration is led with application of the most interesting verbal turns, comparisons, proverbs and so forth. "I tell about what I saw" — the author begins with these words the narration about Kamentsa . Display of backward life from within with its positive and negative manifestations, without pathos, made work "treasure" of the Jewish and world literature. It is enough to provide the statement about the book of the classic of the Jewish literature Sholem Aleichem in the letter to E. Kotik: "Was Jews in your Kamentsa and in Zastavye much, it is a lot of relatives in your noisy how you call her, a family — what none of them made such memoirs how yours? »

In detail described in the memoirs sir Shemet and his estate in the territory of present Shemetovka.



My memoirs. Volume I



My memoirs. Volume II





Our partners

Теплый плинтус спб

Versão em português 中文版本 日本語版
Polish version La version française Versione italiana
Русская версия English version Deutsch Version

Ехезкель (Ехешкель) Котик

Родился в 1847 году в Каменец-Литовске, в очень уважаемой семье состоятельного еврея хасида Мойше. Далее, как и большинство еврейских детей, обучался в школе, где меламед Яков-Бер преподавал детишкам Гемару, Тору и Мидраш. Уже там в своей школе при помощи усердного ученья, природной смышлёности и хлёстких розог раби Шая-Бецалеля маленький Ехезкель усваивает помимо занятий, устройство жизни в еврейском обществе «литовских» местечек, особенности отношений внутри кагала, жизнь и быт нееврейского населения Каменца. На данном этапе всяческим жизненным примудростям его обучают в основном дед реб Арон-Лейзер и бабуля Бейле-Раше, далее «вольные хлеба». Наверное, легче перечислить то, чем пан Котик не занимался — заготовка леса, содержание шинка-кофейни, и т.д.

Позже переезжает с места на место. Причиной этому поиск средств к существованию и попытка уйти от множества еврейских погромов (например, знаменитый киевский погром), после чего и становится «живой историей внутренних перемещений российских евреев».

Семейство Котик
Остановился этот неординарнейший человече в Польше в Налевках одном из районов Варшавы, где содержал «самая интересная еврейская кофейня в мире» как выразился об этом заведении автор книги «Еврейские души», А. Литвин. Еврейским эмигрантам с востока (литвакам) приходилось держаться вместе, а «стержнем» этой «суполкi» как раз и был Ехезкель Котик. Антисемитская политика сопровождающаяся массовыми погромами (особенно в Малороссии и на Юге России) породили несколько волн еврейской эмиграции, в частности и в Варшаву. Переезжали денежные личности да и
к тому же с обширными связями. В сложившихся условиях кофейня пана Котика становится местом «тусовки» евреев-эмигрантов. И кого тут только нет: фабриканты, купцы, банкиры, комисионеры (выражаясь современным языком — «и другие представители малого и среднего бизнеса»), так же появлялась еврейская интеллигенция в основном в лице писателей. Ни одно еврейское общественно-политическое действие не обходится без участия Котика, интересен его подход к созданию новых движений и организаций. Всё в той же кофейне он ненавязчиво даёт вам прочесть написанную им самим же брошюру-буклет, разумеется в свободное время. Вот вы отнечего делать «глотнули» несколько слов, вот вы уже не можете оторваться от неё, к концу чтения вы уже разделяете взгляды того самого хозяина кофейни. Весело? Верьте али нет, но таким образом появились-таки на свет «Сионистский союз мира», «Посещение больных», «Помощь сиротам», «Ночлег праведных», «Ахиэзер» (Братская помощь), естественно, со штаб-квартирой на Налевках, 31.

Однако хотелось бы остановиться на его литературном труде, а именно на такой вещи как «Воспоминания» — настоящей энциклопедии о жизни местечка Каменец в ХIХ веке, написанной на идиш. Спустя много лет (в 1998 году) Центр по истории польского еврейства при Тель-Авивском университете издал книгу Котика на иврите. Трудами Майи Улановской эта «надолго забытая жемчужина еврейской литературы» была переведена на великий и могучий.

Книга «Воспоминания» — настоящая онтология жизни города: мещане, помещики, евреи-меламеды, торговцы, ассесоры ,исправники и все со своими характерами, привычками, поступками. Всё это подано с весьма интересной точки зрения и с тонким еврейским юмором. Само повествование ведётся с применением интереснейших словестных оборотов, сравнений, пословиц и проч. «Я рассказываю о том, что я видел», — этими словами автор начинает своё повествование о Каменце.  Именно показ местечковой жизни изнутри с её позитивными и негативными проявлениями, без пафоса, сделали произведение «сокровищем» еврейской и мировой литературы. Достаточно привести высказывание о книге классика еврейской литературы Шолом-Алейхема в письме Е. Котику: «Немало было евреев в Вашем Каменце и в Заставье, немало родни в Вашей шумной, как Вы её называете, семье — что же никто из них не составил таких воспоминаний, как Ваши?»

Подробно описал в своих воспоминаниях пана Шемета и его усадьбу на территории нынешней Шеметовки.

Мои воспоминания.Том I



Мои воспоминания.Том II



Наши партнеры

Животный мир Кобринщины, Кобрин, Беларусь